Skip to main content

Bonnie Honig

Professor Honig is an Affiliated Research Professor at the American Bar Foundation and the Nancy Duke Lewis Professor of Modern Culture and Media and Political Science (and Religious Studies and Theater and Performance Studies, by courtesy) at Brown University. 

Honig is author of Political Theory and the Displacement of Politics (Cornell, 1993, Scripps Prize for best first book), Democracy and the Foreigner (Princeton, 2001), Emergency Politics: Paradox, Law, Democracy (Princeton, 2009, David Easton Prize), Antigone, Interrupted. (Cambridge University Press, 2013) and Public Things: Democracy in Disrepair (Fordham, 2017). She has edited or co-edited several collections, including Feminist Interpretations of Hannah Arendt (Penn State, 1995) and Politics, Theory, and Film: Critical Encounters with Lars von Trier (Oxford, 2016).

 Her articles have appeared in Arethusa (Okin-Young Prize for best article in feminist theory), New Literary HistoryPolitical Theory, Theory & Event, Social Textdifferences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studiesthe American Political Science Review, and more.  She is currently writing a book based on her 2017 Flexner Lectures, titled: “Give me glory” - Feminism and the Politics of Refusal (Harvard University Press). Her most recent publication is “12 Angry Men: Care for the Agon and the Varieties of Masculine Experience,” fc Theory & Event 2019.  In 2017-18 she served as the Inaugural Cranor Phi Beta Kappa Scholar, and she is currently an affiliate of the Digital Democracy Group at Simon Fraser University.

Site design by Webitects

© 2020 American Bar Foundation (
750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611-4403
(312) 988-6500
Contact Us
Media Contacts
Privacy policy
Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in ABF publications are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the American Bar Foundation or the American Bar Association. The AMERICAN BAR FOUNDATION, ABF and related seal trademarks as used by the American Bar Foundation are owned by the American Bar Association and used under license.