Skip to main content

Washington, D.C. Fellow William J. Kilberg

August 15, 2014, Fellows in the news

WASHINGTON, D.C.; August 14, 2014 — American Friends of The Hebrew University (AFHU) announced today that the organization will honor William J. Kilberg with the prestigious Torch of Learning Award on September 17, 2014, at a dinner supporting the Aharon Barak Center for Interdisciplinary Legal Research at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem’s Faculty of Law. The evening’s distinguished keynote speaker will be U.S. Congressman Paul Ryan of Wisconsin’s First District.

Mr. Kilberg is the most senior partner in the Labor and Employment Law Practice Group at Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP. He has served on the firm’s Executive Committee, five-member Management Committee, and as Partner-in-Charge of the Washington office. He has argued many significant matters before eight United States Courts of Appeals and the United States Supreme Court.

In 1973, Mr. Kilberg was appointed by President Richard Nixon as the Solicitor for the U.S. Department of Labor, becoming the youngest person ever to be confirmed by the Senate for a sub-Cabinet post. He served as Associate Solicitor of Labor, General Counsel of the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, and as a White House Fellow and Special Assistant to Secretary of Labor George P. Shultz. In 1982, President Ronald Reagan appointed Mr. Kilberg to the Commission on White House Fellowships.

Recently, Mr. Kilberg served as a co-chair of the National Finance Committees for both the John McCain and Mitt Romney Presidential campaigns and as chair of the Policy Committee on Labor for the Romney campaign. He also founded Palmer National Bank, now part of United Bank.

Newly elected into the Employment Law Hall of Fame by Lawdragon, Mr. Kilberg is a charter fellow of both the College of Labor & Employment Lawyers and the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel. He currently serves as president of the College of Labor & Employment Lawyers and as a fellow of the American Bar Foundation.

An engaged civic leader, Mr. Kilberg serves on the Mid-Atlantic Region Board of AFHU, the Board of The Potomac School, the Virginia Israel Advisory Board and the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Lawyers Committee.

“Bill Kilberg is an exemplary litigator whose intellect and skill have successfully fostered employee and labor relations in this country,” said Daniel I. Schlessinger, President of AFHU. “His legal prowess, dedication to public service, and commitment to Jewish communal leadership make him a laudable Torch of Learning Award recipient. We are delighted to have him accept this elite award.”

AFHU’s Torch of Learning Award recognizes individuals identified with the highest standards of achievement and whose lives are equally dedicated to leadership, scholarship and humanitarianism. They are devoted to Israel’s well-being and the cause of higher education as exemplified by Israel’s foremost institution of higher learning, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

The 2014 Torch of Learning Award Dinner will take place on Wednesday, September 17, at the Park Hyatt in Washington, D.C. Proceeds will benefit the Aharon Barak Center for Interdisciplinary Legal Research at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem’s Faculty of Law. Solicitations for donations are made solely by the American Friends of The Hebrew University and not by Congressman Paul Ryan.

The dinner chairs are Fred and Marlene Malek. Serving as honorary chairs are The Honorable Dick Cheney and The Honorable Lynne Cheney, the Honorable George P. Shultz, Senator John McCain, Senator Tim Kaine, The Honorable Mitt Romney, The Honorable Eric Cantor, and The Honorable Joseph Lieberman. Co-chairing the dinner are Mr. and Mrs. Matthew Brooks, Mr. and Mrs. Wesley G. Bush, The Honorable and Mrs. Frank C. Carlucci,
?The Honorable and Mrs. Michael Chertoff, The Honorable and Mrs. J. Marshall Coleman, The Honorable and Mrs. Norm Coleman, The Honorable and Mrs. Edward F. Cox, Mr. and Mrs. Jack N. Gerard, Mr. Mark Lowham and Dr. Joseph A. Ruzzo, Mr. and Mrs. Keith Morgan, The Honorable Theodore B. Olson and Ms. Lady Booth, Mr. and Mrs. Robert F. Pence, Mr. and Mrs. W. Russell Ramsey, Mr. and Mrs. George A. Schieren, Mr. and Mrs. Bradley J. Schwartz, Mr. and Mrs. George A. Vradenburg, and The Honorable and Mrs. Fred S. Zeidman.

For more information, or to RSVP, please contact Maggie Auerbach Bolstad, AFHU Mid-Atlantic Region Associate Director, at (202) 363-4600, or

About The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, located on three campuses in Jerusalem and a fourth in Rehovot, is one of the world’s leading academic and research institutions. More than 23,000 students from more than 70 countries choose Hebrew University for its seven academic Faculties and to take advantage of extensive opportunities to participate in groundbreaking research.  Faculty and alumni of The Hebrew University have won seven Nobel Prizes in just one decade.


« Return to Fellows in the News

Site design by Webitects

© 2022 American Bar Foundation (
750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611-4403
(312) 988-6500
Contact Us
Contact the Fellows
Media Contacts
Privacy policy
Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in ABF publications are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the American Bar Foundation or the American Bar Association. The AMERICAN BAR FOUNDATION, ABF and related seal trademarks as used by the American Bar Foundation are owned by the American Bar Association and used under license.