Skip to main content

Editorial Staff

Law & Social Inquiry Editorial Contacts

All inquiries regarding the journal or submission criteria can be directed to .

Editor: Christopher Schmidt

Review Section Editor: Howard Erlanger

Editorial Coordinator: Breck Radulovic 

Associate Editors: 

Evelyn Atkinson, University of Chicago, USA

Shih-Chun Chien, The American Bar Foundation, USA

Stephen Daniels, The American Bar Foundation, USA

Meghan Dawe, The American Bar Foundation, USA

Jessica Lopez-Espino, New York University, USA

Anna Reosti, The American Bar Foundation, USA

Arielle Tolman, Northwestern University, USA

Editorial Board

2019 - 2021

Paul M. Collins Jr, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA

Seth Davis, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Ingrid V. Eagly, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Alison Gash, University of Oregon, USA

Mark Goodale, University of Lausanne, USA

Ya-Wen Lei, Harvard University, USA

Sandra R. Levitsky, University of Michigan, USA

Larisa Mann, Temple University, USA

Osagie K. Obasogie, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Keramet Reiter, University of California, Irvine, USA

Alison Dundes Renteln, University of Southern California, USA

Justin T. Sevier, Florida State University, USA

Susan Trevaskes, Griffith University, Australia

2020 - 2022

Amanda Baumle, University of Houston, USA

Anya Bernstein, University of Buffalo, USA

Tom Burke, Wellesley College, USA

Scott Cummings, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Matthew S. Erie, University of Oxford, UK

Daphna Hacker, Tel Aviv University, Israel

Allison P. Harris, Yale University, USA

Michael Light, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Renisa Mawani, University of British Columbia, Canada

Michelle Phelps, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, USA

Stephen Rushin, Loyola University Chicago, USA

David Thacher, University of Michigan, USA

Kathryne M. Young, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA

2021 - 2023

Sarah Brayne, University of Texas, Austin, USA

Deepa Das Acevedo, University of Alabama, USA

Sara Dezalay, Cardiff University, UK

William Garriott, Drake University, USA

Shannon Gleeson, Cornell University, USA

Alyx Mark, Wesleyan University, USA

Cecilia Menjívar, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Kwai Ng, University of California, San Diego, USA

Asifa Quraishi-Landes, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Shiri Regev-Messalem, Bar-Ilan University, Israel

Jessica Simes, Boston University, USA

Esther Sullivan, University of Colorado, Denver, USA

Ari Ezra Waldman, Northeastern University, USA

Fei Hsien Wang, Indiana University Bloomington, USA

Site design by Webitects

© 2022 American Bar Foundation (
750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611-4403
(312) 988-6500
Contact Us
Contact the Fellows
Media Contacts
Privacy policy
Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in ABF publications are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the American Bar Foundation or the American Bar Association. The AMERICAN BAR FOUNDATION, ABF and related seal trademarks as used by the American Bar Foundation are owned by the American Bar Association and used under license.