Skip to main content

Florida State Co-Chairs Henry M. Coxe III and A. Joshua Markus to Receive Fellows Outstanding State Chair Awards

January 27, 2014, Press releases


 Contact:            Kathryn Harris


Phone:             312.988.6515

Fax:                 312.988.6579


Twitter:            @ABFResearch

Two outstanding Florida leaders will be honored at ABA Midyear event in February

 CHICAGO, January 27,  2014 – Florida State Co-Chairs, Henry M. Coxe III, Jacksonville, FL, and A. Joshua Markus, Miami, FL will receive Outstanding State Chair Awards from The Fellows of the American Bar Foundation at the 58th Annual Awards Reception and Banquet on Saturday, February 8, 6:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. at The Murphy Chicago. Robert A. Clifford and Clifford Law Offices are the Presenting Sponsors of the 2014 banquet, one of several events being hosted by The Fellows during the Midyear Meeting of the American Bar Association. Keynote remarks will be given by former U.S. Attorney Patrick Fitzgerald.

 The Outstanding State Chair Award is given annually to a Fellow or Fellows of the American Bar Foundation who has, in his or her role as a sitting State Chair or Co-Chair, demonstrated a dedication to the work of the Foundation and the mission of The Fellows through exceptional efforts on behalf of The Fellows at the state level. Selection of the recipient(s) is made by the Fellows Officers, who oversee the national organization.

 A Board Certified Criminal Trial Lawyer since 1988, Henry M. Coxe III has been the recipient of The Florida Bar President's Pro Bono Service Award, named Jacksonville Financial/Daily News Lawyer of the Year, recipient of The Florida Bar President's Award of Merit, the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) President's Award, and Jacksonville Area Legal Aid's Justice for All Award.

Coxe is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and has served as a Delegate to the American Bar Association.  He served on the Board of Directors of Jacksonville Area Legal Aid, and chaired the Disciplinary Grievance Committee of the U.S. District Court, Jacksonville Division, and The Florida Bar. Coxe also served as President of The Florida Bar and President of the Jacksonville Bar Association.

Coxe’s practice focuses on criminal defense in both state and federal courts.  He has served on the Florida Judicial Qualifications Commission and the Florida Supreme Court Innocence Commission and the Judicial Nominating Commissions of the Fourth Circuit and First District Court of Appeal.  He is a Master of the Chester Bedell Inn of Court and for many years a faculty member of the National Institute of Trial Advocacy.

In four of the past five years, Coxe has been identified as one of the top 10 Florida lawyers in Florida Super Lawyers Magazine and a member of the Florida Legal Elite “Hall of Fame” by Florida Trend Magazine. He was the recipient of the prestigious 2010 Steven M. Goldstein Criminal Justice Award presented by the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, the 2011 Selig Goldin Award from the Criminal Law Section of The Florida Bar, and the 2012 Medal of Honor Award presented by The Florida Bar Foundation.

Markus is Board Certified as an International Lawyer in Florida at the Miami office of Carlton Fields Jorden Burt. He is the author of numerous articles and publications and is a frequent speaker on international law topics. He serves as Chair of the International Practice Group, Head of the Public Private Partnership Team, and Co-Chair of the Professional Development Committee.

A graduate of Duke University, the University of Florida School of Law, and the Vrije Universiteit in Brussels, Markus represents companies in international and domestic corporate transactions including joint ventures, strategic alliances, mergers and acquisitions, public private partnerships and multi-jurisdictional projects. He also advises these companies on general corporate and commercial matters with particular focus on electronic commerce, distribution of goods and services, direct marketing, advertising and entertainment oriented matters and general corporate operational matters in cable and satellite television, sports, and wholesale and retail consumer products.

Markus is a former Chair of both the International Law Section of The Florida Bar and the Section of International Law of the American Bar Association. He is a long time member of the Council of the Section of International Law of the ABA and, after serving as one of its two Delegates to the House of Delegates of the ABA, is now a Delegate at Large to that House, elected by the membership of the ABA for a three-year term.

“The Fellows are delighted that Hank Coxe and Josh Markus are receiving the Outstanding State Chair Awards,” said Fellows Chair-Elect Kathleen Hopkins. “As State Co-Chairs, they have actively worked to fill the Fellows vacancies in their state. Their extraordinary leadership of The Florida Fellows is a model for the organization.”

Also receiving awards at the Chicago event will be Professor Deborah L. Rhode, for Outstanding Scholar, and Hon. Patricia M. Ward for Outstanding Service.

Program details:         

WHAT:            The Fellows of the American Bar Foundation Annual Award Reception and Banquet

WHEN:            Saturday, February 8, 6:00p.m. – 10:00 p.m.

WHERE:         The Murphy Chicago

                           50 E. Erie St.

                           Chicago, IL 60611       

This is a ticketed event. Please click here for registration information. For general event information, contact or call 800-292-5065.

 The Fellows of the American Bar Foundation is an honorary organization of lawyers, judges, and legal scholars whose public and private careers have demonstrated outstanding dedication to the welfare of their communities and to the highest principles of the legal profession.

The American Bar Foundation is the nation's leading research institute for the empirical study of law. An independent, nonprofit organization for more than 60 years, ABF seeks to advance the understanding and improvement of law through research projects of unmatched scale and quality on the most pressing issues facing the legal system in the United States and the world. The ABF’s primary funding is provided by the American Bar Endowment.


« Return to Press releases

Site design by Webitects

© 2023 American Bar Foundation (
750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611-4403
(312) 988-6500
Contact Us
Contact the Fellows
Media Contacts
Privacy policy
Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in ABF publications are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the American Bar Foundation or the American Bar Association. The AMERICAN BAR FOUNDATION, ABF and related seal trademarks as used by the American Bar Foundation are owned by the American Bar Association and used under license.