Skip to main content

Carolyn B. Witherspoon, Arkansas Life Fellow, Inducted into Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame

June 3, 2019, Fellows in the news

Carolyn B. Witherspoon, Arkansas Life Fellow, has been inducted into the Arkansas Women's Hall of Fame. Witherspoon is a director and founder of the firm Cross, Gunter, Witherspoon and Galchus. Through her leadership and service, she has served the legal profession and the state of Arkansas in countless ways. Witherspoon was the first woman to serve as president of the Arkansas Bar Association, and currently serves as the Arkansas delegate to the American Bar Association, as well as chair of the Commission on Interest Lawyers' Trust Accounts. She is part of the prestigious Union Internationale des Advocats, and in 2013 was appointed to the Commission on Uniform State Laws.

Ms. Witherspoon has served a critical role in supporting women attorneys at her firm, and in supporting and founding organizations that serve women. Under her direction, CGWG became the only firm in the state with majority  ownership by female attorneys. Her firm was also honored in 2012, 2013 and 2014 with the When Work Works Award, which recognizes companies for incorporating flexibility into workplace practices.

Ms. Witherspoon provides legal services to low-income people through VOCALS, the Volunteer Organization Center for Arkansas Legal Services. She was an original founder of the Women's Foundation of Arkansas and has served as past president.

Read more here.

« Return to Fellows in the news

Site design by Webitects

© 2022 American Bar Foundation (
750 North Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611-4403
(312) 988-6500
Contact Us
Contact the Fellows
Media Contacts
Privacy policy
Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in ABF publications are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the American Bar Foundation or the American Bar Association. The AMERICAN BAR FOUNDATION, ABF and related seal trademarks as used by the American Bar Foundation are owned by the American Bar Association and used under license.